I MINA BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (Second) Regular Session

Resolution No. 185 (LS)

Introduced by:

1

14

15

L. F. Kasperbauer J. M. S. Brown Ray Tenorio

Relative to commending and congratulating the members of the 45th University of Guam Student Government Association as they assume office for the 2006-2007 Academic year; and to thanking the members and advisors of the 44th University of Guam Student Government Association for their service, commitment, and diligence during the 2005-2006 academic year.

Be it Resolved by I Mina Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan:

2 WHEREAS, the 2006-2007 academic year rings in a new era of student 3 stewards tasked with ensuring that there is a voice in all areas of student concern 4 critical to the fulfillment of the mission of the University of Guam; and WHEREAS, the members of the 45th University of Guam Student 5 Government Association (UOG SGA) include Michael Bumagat, President, 6 7 Bernard Cruz, Vice President, Maria Sayo, Treasurer, Krystal Junsay, Secretary; 8 and Mark Alviz, Brian Biacan, Frank Borja, Joann Escalante, Aubry Hocog, 9 Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, Glen Leon Guerrero, 10 Mantanona, Pamela Pineda, Angela Sablan, and Darlene Vigil, as Senators; 11 and 12 WHEREAS, as members of the 45th UOG SGA, they will carry forward the 13 work of past student governments whilst forging new and innovative agendas to

ensure that opportunities for self-expression remain, and the formation of new

and improved educational programs continue; and

WHEREAS, the 45th UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble, is set to practice 1 2 the principles of democracy, maintain a harmonious environment with all constituencies of the university, provide services, and coordinate activities for 3 4 UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of the institution

5 and the island-community; and

6 WHEREAS, the members of the 44th UOG SGA include: Sahara June 7 Defensor, President, Jessica Pineda, Vice President, Jenny Regis, Treasurer, 8 Nancy Mae Carlos, Secretary; and Lynes Bayonito, Michael Bumagat, Bernard 9 Cruz, Joseph Gamboa, Krystal Junsay, Bret Maluwelmeng, Edison Manaloto, 10 Audrey Muna, Keith Quiambao, Denver Tangonan, and Darlene Vigil as 11 Senators; and 12 WHEREAS, those that provided guidance to the 44th UOG SGA include 13 Advisors: Prof. Christopher Garcia, Div. of English & Applied Lx., Dr. Michael

14 Griffin, Communications & Fine Arts, Prof. Alicia Limtiaco, Div. Public Admin 15 & Legal Studies, Dr. Richard Matheny, Div. Social/Behavioral Sciences, Dr.

16 Sweeter Sachuo, Secondary Education, and Dr. Annette Santos,

17 Management/Marketing; and

21

22

23

24

25

18 WHEREAS, through their work and experience with the UOG SGA and 19 knowledge gained through the education attained at UOG, the future of the 20 island holds promise as the SGA members of today are destined to become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, commend and congratulate all the members of the 45th University of Guam Student Government Association, and wish them great success during the 2006-2007

26 Academic year as they take on new endeavors; and be it further

1	RESOLVED, that the I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does
2	hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam thank all the
3	members and advisors of the 44th University of Guam Student Government
4	Association for their service, commitment, and diligence during the 2005-2006
5	Academic year; and be it further
6	RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature
7	attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter
8	transmitted to Mr. Michael Bumagat, President, 45th University of Guam Student
9	Government Association; Ms. Sahara June Defensor, President, 44th University of
10	Guam Student Government Association; to Dr. Harold L. Allen, President,
11	University of Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
12	Guåhan.
	Duly and regularly adopted on the day of August, 2006.
	MARK FORBES EDDIE BAZA CALVO
	Speaker Senator and Secretary of the Legislature